The Cash Collective "Hey Crow!" SIGNED OR UNSIGNED CD

Regular price $15.00
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.


THE CASH COLLECTIVE Hey Crow! album is a collection of nine original songs, co-written by John Carter Cash and Justin Johnson. Although folk music may have been part of the foundation of these recordings, in the end, The Cash Collective Hey Crow! is straight ahead, rock and roll. “Much of the writing process was stream-of-consciousness,” explained Justin. "It starts with a spark, but when it catches fire, you’ve got to follow that magic. We followed and it took us to the rock’n'roll side of what we both really love.”

“Of course, I grew up around country, listening to my father's music, and the Carter Family,” said John Carter, "but when I was 12 or 13 years old, I listened to AC/DC, Black Sabbath, Aerosmith, Iron Maiden, Rush, the Alan Parson Project, and Pink Floyd. This album pays homage to the classic rock bands that are still just as renowned and respected today as when I was young. And that was the case with both Chuck Turner and Justin Johnson. We all grew up on rock.”

For the recording of Hey Crow!, The Cash Collective utilized techniques and vintage gear from the analog recording years of the 20th century, especially from the 60s and 70s. Said co-producer Chuck Turner, “We used ProTools for the recording of the album, giving us tons of editing possibilities. But we also used vintage AKG and Neumanns microphones, and our Neve pre-amps provided a great, warm character to the music. Then, when we mixed the album, we printed it back to analog tape to add that analog warmth back before it was mastered."

“Music is, at its best, a group of like-minded people making something that is bigger than the sum of its parts, and no one who was involved in this album could have made it solely on their own,” added Justin. “Hey Crow! is the end result from a collection of musical companions who shared an environment, a time, and a place where magic happened. Over the course of the writing and recording, there was no judgment, no ‘this is right’ or ’this is wrong,’ we let the ideas and creativity come out and then we organized the chaos afterwards.”

1. Rise Up!
2. Secret Project
3. Sunshine Song
4. Black Crow's Eyes
5. Kick the Man Down 
6. Packaging Committee
7. The Seven
8. Red Earth, Red Sky
9. Through the Fire and the Flames